Meet the GPTCA Level A Class of 2022

Meet the GPTCA Level A Class of 2022

03 October 2022

The GPTCA Level A Class of 2022 represents a uniquely seasoned cohort of accomplished and diverse tennis coaches positioned to make a positive impact.

“We were very impressed with the caliber of applicants this edition, and the result is an exceptional class,” said Alberto Castellani, GPTCA President and Director of the Programme. “When I think about everyone in this group, I think they’re humbly confident, driven to make a difference and deeply care about each other,” he added. 

The 31 students started their one-week accelerated programme on September 21 at the Angie Kerber Tennis Academy, Poland. With a demonstrated record of impactful leadership and pro tennis coaching experience, students in the Class of 2022 had, on average, more than 20 years of work experience, ranging between 8 and 36. Students came from 20 different nationalities, with 62% of the class coming from Europe. 

The Level A Programme is run once every five years; it’s short and intense. A strong lineup of speakers included Wolfgang Thiem (father and coach of Dominic Thiem, GS Champion and World No. 3), Alberto Castellani (GPTCA President, one of the most experienced ATP Coaches on the Tour), Gonzalo Lopez Fabero (coach of Top 100 players: Donskoy, Gabashvili, Levine, Alonso), Kim Tiilikainen (coach of Top 100 players: Laaksonen, Janowicz, Przysiezny, Kontinen/Peers), Maciej Ryszczuk (fitness trainer and physio of World No. 1 and 3-time GS champion Iga Swiatek), Dragos Luscan (ex fitness trainer of Simona Halep, works with the Romanian National Handball Team & Olympic Gold Medallists). 

“This was a remarkable group of coaches, and they should be proud of what they’ve done, individually and collectively,” Marcin Matysik, GPTCA Secretary Gen., said. ”I hope they’ll be active leaders who stay engaged and continue to reap the benefits of this memorable experience.”

Here’s the graduation list. 

Agustina Wibisono 

Alan Ross Belman

Aldin Setkic

Alek Duric

Amir Reza

Andy Fitzell

Artem Vaganov 

Bob Clark

Claudio Fanuli 

Chris Begg

Christoph Niedhart

Christopher Tran

Filip Havaj 

Ivo Klec 

James Allemby

Jorge Pinilla 

Kuty Vazana

Lenoir Ramos Jr.

Luka Kalezic

Lukasz Markowski

Michael Seibold

Nenad Trifunovic 

Patrick Kur

Philippe Matta

Rainer Gunther

Sandro Riera

Simone Torri 

Stefan Muehleisen

Steve Williams 

Vincenzo Alfano

Vladimir Odobasic